Poltergeist Levels

Ghostly activities can range from just light noises to a raging thunderstorm. Here is a breakdown of the different levels of a poltergeist.

This chart goes by levels that accumulate as the levels progress. This means that in level 3 the poltergeist will have all the characteristics of level 3, but it will have the characteristics of levels 1 and 2 as well.

OneReferred to as a Senses Attack because in the early stages of a poltergeist
the activity mainly revolves around
the human body's basic senses.
Cold spots - Strange noises
- Odd odors and smells -
Hearing footsteps - Unusual
animal activity (dogs/cats
running from rooms, etc) -
Feelings of being watched..

(paranormal activity)
Two This level is where the noises and smells
begin to turn into something more direct.
Everything is still at its basic
level but turned up a few notches.
Whispers - Laughs or giggles
- Moans or shrieking -
Moving shadows - Breezes in
closed areas - Visible clouds
(base apparitions) - Strong
static electricity. Marks on
floors or walls, (Not Writings)

(paranormal activity)
Three At this stage the poltergeist
begins to make it's presence felt.
The difference is that in the first
two levels it could be said
that it was the mind playing
tricks, but now, it's hard not
to notice something real is
happening. This is the level
that the classic haunting
falls into.
Lights and other electrical appliances
turning ON/OFF
Unseen hands grabbing or touching people
- Writings on walls or pattern markings -
- Doors that OPEN/CLOSE or LOCK/UNLOCK -
Hearing voices or words clearly
- Full apparitions or dark figures -
Showing levels of communication
with living people
- Strange telephone calls -

Four This is where an advanced
poltergeist begins to gain
momentum. Moving closer to the
danger level and picking up a
clearer consciousness. It may
seem that it's only a harmless
ghost being playful. However,
if it is a poltergeist, it may be
gathering knowledge of
what the people around it
consider frightening. At the
next level it will use the
information gained here in a
violent manner to create an
atmosphere of absolute
terror. Which it then will
use to feed off of and build
its own energy...
Flying objects - Moving objects -
Objects disappearing and
reappearing elsewhere
shaking furniture
- Fire starting -
Appearing as frightening entities
- Pushing or shaking people -
creating visions or illusions
speaking in ordering tones
People feel dizzy, nausea
or sick to their stomach.
Windows, mirrors or other
household objects breaking for
no reason
- Levitation -

Five At this level the poltergeist is at its
highest energy point and should be
considered dangerous.
Violent and/or threatening
actions begin at this stage.
The time frame here, and all
stages listed, will vary
depending on the poltergeist.
It could end in days, months
or years. After this stage
the poltergeist will go dormant
and then begin this cycle over again
Dangerous activity - Biting -
Slapping or punching - rape -
Animating objects -
Possessions - Use of
household electrical systems
burning - Blood on walls,
unseen forces - held down -
Hair pulled - Flying knives or
sharp objects - Heavy
objects falling - Threatening
writings or visual signs


Back to

Copyright 1998-2004 by George & Cathy Brady, Hamilton Paranormal